0

    Act of Aggression‘s big pre-order deal, other than a discount, is access to the game’s multiplayer beta. That beta opens today.

    The multiplayer beta offers two of the game’s factions – the US Army and the Chimera – and lets players fight it out either in PvP, in skirmishes against the AI, or in co-operative comp-stomps. As the beta progresses, more maps will be added along with the game’s third and final faction, the Cartel.

    I’m a little confused about exactly when said beta launches, but I think that’s mostly because I can’t read time zones. It’s at 9am PST/12pm EST, which I think is one hour from now, so… 5pm BST?

    Continuing with the time zone hilarity, there’ll also be a developer livestream featuring Eugen co-founder and creative director Alexis Le Dressay. That’s at 10:15am PST/1:15pm EST, which is, uh… 6:15pm BST? I think? I hate time zones.

    Act of Aggression is Eugen Systems’ attempt at a classic RTS. Three varied factions battle it out for resources across massive maps in a near-future setting, with a number of little twists on the formula like “ransoming back prisoners of war” and “occupying banks for cash” throwing a bit more spice into the proceedings. You’ll also have to set up supply lines, I’m told, which definitely sounds a bit Eugen Systems.

    Other than the Wargame series, they made RUSE, which is one of my favourite little RTS games of recent-ish years. I’m really quite looking forward to seeing their take on a classic RTS.

    If you want to pre-order and get access to the beta, you can do so for £29.74 by clicking here. If not, have a look at some lovely new screens below.

    Tim McDonald
    Tim has been playing PC games for longer than he's willing to admit. He's written for a number of publications, but has been with PC Invasion - in all its various incarnations - for over a decade. When not writing about games, Tim can occasionally be found speedrunning terrible ones, making people angry in Dota 2, or playing something obscure and random. He's also weirdly proud of his status as (probably) the Isle of Man's only professional games journalist.

    You may also like

    More in News