Blizzard announces team-based shooter Overwatch

Blizzard announces team-based shooter Overwatch


A new game has just been revealed by Blizzard, and it’s called Overwatch.

The trademark for Overwatch was registered back in April. Overwatch is a team-based multiplayer shooter being directed by Jeff Kaplan, and Blizzard aim to make it “approachable” for everyone.

The game’s art style will be more than familiar to fans of Team Fortress 2, but it’s also got some typically Blizzard touches. A variety of environments have been on display, including those in Japanese, Egyptian and urban settings – and in case you were wondering, no, this won’t be doing a Heroes of the Storm and featuring previous Blizzard characters. Instead, the game’s roster features an all-new cast of characters, including:

  • Tracer
  • Symettra
  • Pharah
  • Hanzo
  • Reaper
  • Winston
  • Torbjorn
  • Bastion
  • Mercy
  • Widowmaker
  • Zenyatta
  • Reinhart

The beta for the game will begin next year, but it’s playable at BlizzCon right now. Fans of the genre might want to keep an eye on this one. Now watch the moving images.

The official website is now live and beta sign-ups are being taken.

Active comments on PC Invasion: