BAFTA has announced four new Video Game BAFTA categories.
The four new categories being added to the Video Game BAFTA awards next year will include Debut Game, Online – Browser, Online – Multiplayer and Performer.
The ‘Debut Game’ category covers a title from a new development studio that released its first game in 2011.
The online categories have been extended to include the ‘Best Online Browser game’ which covers social, casual and browser games. ‘Best Online Multiplayer’ will be awarded to the best online multiplayer games experience.
The final new category ‘Performer’ will include a range of performing arts, from voice artistry to motion capture.
Ray Maguire, Chairman of BAFTA’s Video Games Committee, said: “BAFTA annually reviews its Awards categories to ensure they remain relevant and valued within the industry. Over the last year, we have witnessed the increased sophistication and popularity of online gaming, and so our two new online categories will ensure the scope of creative work in this area is being properly recognised. We are equally delighted to begin recognising the performance aspect within games, as we do for film and television, which further demonstrates the common ground between the industries.  Debut Game is another important addition this year, which reflects the changing game-development landscape and the rise of new, independent studios.”
BAFTA usually go for the most predictable choices and not always the best games as we discussed following last year’s winners.

Paul Younger
Founder and Editor of PC Invasion. Founder of the world's first gaming cafe and Veteran PC gamer of over 22 years.

    Gotham City Impostors animated trailer

    Previous article

    Football Manager 2012 demo now on Steam

    Next article

    You may also like

    More in News