Hearthstone‘s second Adventure Mode – Blackrock Mountain – has been announced at PAX East.

Adventure Mode gives players the chance to try their Hearthstone skills against AI bosses across Blackrock Mountain’s five wings. Each boss will offer a unique experience, and beating the bosses will unlock a total of 31 new cards for your decks.

As with Curse of Naxxramas (the first Adventure Mode), Blackrock Mountain will offer nine new class challenges. Not only that, but each wing will also feature a Heroic mode, unlocked when you best all of that wing’s bosses. Heroic mode is “significantly more difficult” and Heroic-level bosses “do not play fair”, which pretty much guarantees at a least a little keyboard-smashing.

The wings will open on a weekly schedule; Blackrock Depths will be the first, with each subsequent wing opening each week thereafter. As with Curse of Naxxramas these wings can be purchased individually, either for 700 gold or $6.99. Bundles of wings are also available, with discounts for the more wings you purchase at any one time.

Pre-orders of the fullĀ Blackrock Mountain Adventure will open on 19 March, offering a unique card back. Blackrock Mountain for Hearthstone will launch next month, and you can read more about it over on the Hearthstone blog.

Tim McDonald
Tim has been playing PC games for longer than he's willing to admit. He's written for a number of publications, but has been with PC Invasion - in all its various incarnations - for over a decade. When not writing about games, Tim can occasionally be found speedrunning terrible ones, making people angry in Dota 2, or playing something obscure and random. He's also weirdly proud of his status as (probably) the Isle of Man's only professional games journalist.

GTA 5 will debut a new radio station on PC

Previous article

Underworld Ascendant raises $850k, funding to continue

Next article

You may also like

More in News