Playerunknown Battlegrounds 1.0 update #2 patch hits live servers tonight. Here’s when.

Playerunknown Battlegrounds 1.0 update #2 patch hits live servers tonight. Here’s when.

After the usual short stint on the test servers, the latest Playerunknown Battlegrounds patch will be going live tonight.

The patch will be deployed at 10 Jan 6PM PST/ 11Jan 3AM CET /  11 Jan 11:00AM KST and maintenance will last four hours. In case you missed the test server action, this patch adds a new way to report pesky cheaters in-game via the replay feature. The other main highlight is improved performance with a reduction in the visible distance while in the air parachuting.

This patch also adds the new crate system which now includes the addition of a crate which can only be opened via a key. The new crates have a high drop rate and PUBG has released the percentage chance to drop for the crates which are as follows:

  • DESPERADO (new paid crate box) : 40%
  • BIKER (new free crate box) : 40%
  • Wanderer : 10%
  • Survivor : 10%

These new paid crates come with cosmetic items and there a limit of six crates per week with the cap being reset every Monday at 12AM UTC. The price of the key to unlock these crates is $2.5 for all regions. Any items gathered from a crate cannot be traded in for BP but can be shoved on the Steam Marketplace. They can also be sent to a buddy as a gift. PUBG has created this FAQ covering this topic.

The full Playerunknown Battlegrounds patch notes can be found here and they also include the drop rates for specific cosmetic items.