Since E3, Bethesda has steadily been releasing details about Skyrim’s much-anticipated new Dawnguard DLC.

Here is a rundown of the known information about Dawnguard:

  • Dawnguard’s plot lets you choose to side with either the Dawnguard vampire hunters, or the vampire lords, who live in the realm of Oblivion.
  • Speaking of Oblivion, players can travel there at will if they choose to become a vampire lord
  • Dawnguard is aimed at players who are level ten or higher, although some areas will be harder than those from Skyrim’s core quest line.
  • Vampire lords have their own skill tree, including tons of new abilities.
  • Vampiric Grip is a new vampire skill, that lets players grab enemies and throw them around effortlessly.
  • Dawnguard has a new Dragon Shout called Soul Tear, that lets players shout at enemies, rip out their soul, then have it reanimate as an ally who fights alongside you.
  • Dawnguard has been confirmed to cost 1600 MS points.
  • Vampire lords can also command swarms of bats and gargoyle companions.
  • Vampire Lords can float on water, but cannot fly. However, they move much faster than your human form.
  • The vampire quest line sees you working for the vampire overlord Harkon, in his quest to block out the sun so the vampires can walk Skyrim at all times.
  • Fort Dawnguard is the home base of the Dawnguard, and it is a hidden castle situated in the far south of Skyrim.
  • Existing vampires in Skyrim have been redesigned to make them look more demonic.
  • There is a new flaming mount called Arvak, who is a horse that dwells in the Cairn of Souls – a new location that you can explore in the realm of Oblivion.
  • Arvak can be summoned from Oblivion at any time
  • The Dawnguard DLC will scale in difficulty for anyone who is already high level when they install it.
  • Although it is only accessible from level ten onward, the Dawnguard DLC makes it possible to complete the core Skyrim quest line as a Vampire Lord if you choose.
  • As a Vampire Lord, you have a new spell called “Drain Life” which sucks HP from targeted enemies.
  • There is a mission called “Power of the Grave” that takes place in Oblivion.
  • There is a werewolf skill tree called “Lycanthrophy”, which was first seen in Bethesda’s Game Jam event trailer.
  • Dawnguard throws new Dragon battles at you
  • Players can make a new set of Dragonbone weapons and armour

The Dawnguard DLC is scheduled to be released on June 26, 2012 for Xbox 360, Playstation 3, and PC.



Paul Younger
Founder and Editor of PC Invasion. Founder of the world's first gaming cafe and Veteran PC gamer of over 22 years.

    Xbox 360 Edition of Minecraft About to Get Update

    Previous article

    Skyrim Update 1.6 Now Available for Xbox 360

    Next article

    You may also like

    More in News