October 27th, 2016

Skyrim Special Edition – Launch times, requirements and eligibility details

Skyrim Special Edition – Launch times, requirements and eligibility details

The Skyrim Special Edition has now gone gold and details of what to expect, when it’s available, and system requirements have been revealed.

The good news is that if you own the game and DLCs already then there’s no need to shell lout any more cash on the game but check the eligibility details below. Let’s start with the system requirements:

Minimum
Windows 7/8.1/10 (64-bit Version)
Intel i5-750/AMD Phenom II X4-945.
8GB of ram.
12 GB free HDD space
NVIDIA GTX 470 1GB /AMD HD 7870 2GB

Recommended
Windows 7/8.1/10 (64-bit Version)
Intel i5-2400/AMD FX-8320.
8GB of ram.
12 GB free HDD space
NVIDIA GTX 780 3GB /AMD R9 290 4GB

Owners of the original will get eh game free and it will appear in owner’s Steam library listings automatically. Eligible owners include:

  • Anyone that owns Skyrim Legendary Edition on Steam.
  • Anyone that owns Skyrim and all three DLCs (Dawnguard, Hearthfire, Dragonborn) on Steam.

Finally the launch times. The Skyrim Special Edition launches on Friday 28 October at 12am UTC. Regional unlock times are as follows:

  • 5pm Pacific Time (October 27)
    [8]8pm Eastern Time (October 27)
  • 1am British Summer Time (October 28)
  • 2am Central European Summer Time (October 28)
  • 11am Australian Eastern Time Zone (October 28)
    [8]1pm New Zealand Time (October 28th)
Related to this article
  • Skyrim Special Edition beta patch 1.3 released
  • Related to this article
  • Skyrim Special Edition 1.2 Beta Update available on Steam
  • Related to this article
  • Skyrim Special Edition beta patch 1.1.51 now live

  • Paul Younger

    Founder and Editor of PC Invasion. Veteran PC gamer of over 22 years.