0

    Windows 10 is almost upon us, but will you make the leap? Having gone through every Windows OS version over the years, I’ll admit that with each release I’ve become more cautious when thinking about committing.

    Windows 10 will fully launch at Midnight EST/9PM PST/5AM GMT which is the middle of the night for us here in the UK. Mind you, Microsoft’s latest OS will also be free for around a year for Windows 7, 8 or 8.1 users, so there’s no massive hurry to jump on the Windows 10 train.

    The big selling point is the cross-platform compatibility with phones, tablets and the Xbox, but that’s probably not reason enough to immediately switch your OS if you’re at all sceptical. Full benefits from DirectX 12 will take a while to filter in, and kinks with current games will take a while to iron out. If your games don’t work perfectly then what use is a new OS?

    Video drivers for the new OS could be an issue still. Those who have been testing have had mixed results as you can see in this Nvidia forum thread. There are enough comments over there to make me not push the button just yet.

    The Windows 10 system requirements, should you want to check those, can be found here. Owners of a decent (or even slightly rubbish) gaming PC should not have an issue with any of these, but check in case you’re not sure. Also be sure to back up anything of importance in advance of installing just in case. Better safe than sorry and all that.

    The good news is there appears to be no major issues with the Steam platform as far as I can tell. So, the question is, are you going to upgrade to Windows 10 when it launches later today?

    [poll id=”6″]

    Paul Younger
    Founder and Editor of PC Invasion. Founder of the world's first gaming cafe and Veteran PC gamer of over 22 years.

      You may also like

      More in News