How does the Prestige system work in Modern Warfare 3 (MW3) Explained

Mwiii Preseason 04 Tout
Credit: Infinity Ward

The Prestige system within Call of Duty is a feature we all know and love, and it has evolved over the years, it is once again back in Modern Warfare 3. Players will need a little refresher on the topic.

Modern Warfare 3 Prestige System: How Does It Work

Modern Warfare 3 is implementing many beloved features missing from Modern Warfare 2, whether this comes in the form of Wonder Weapons or so on.

However, one feature that has remained constant within the series is the Prestige system. It’s back yet again, and fans who have played COD in recent times will know the new format.

Essentially, players will level up to the max level, which in Modern Warfare 3 is 55, and once here, you’re automatically placed into the next Prestige once you level up. So, at 56, you’re technically Prestige 1, and this will continue for every 55 levels until the current max of 250, or Prestige 5.

Gone are the traditional days where players would lose everything once they reset, and instead, this new format has been a constant within the Modern Warfare titles since 2019, and fans don’t know if they love it yet. While we aren’t sure if this feature will go live until Season 1 of Modern Warfare 3 releases next month, we’re sure that they’re keeping the same format again.

Related: Modern Warfare 3 Minelayer guide: How to easily eliminate zombies

Cod Mw 2 Prestige
Credit: Infinity Ward

The above image is the Prestige icons from Modern Warfare 2, so we expect a fresh revamp this year, but we aren’t too sure quite yet about how they will look.

Players won’t even know that they’ve Prestige either, as it’ll just happen naturally throughout leveling up in the game, so while it lacks the special feeling it once did, it’s still a nice feature to level up continuously.

As well, as the games life cycle goes on, they’re also going to add more Prestige levels for players to obtain, so for instance, during Season 2, we could see another 5 Prestige’s added, meaning there’s going to be 500 levels for players to obtain in MW3.

In the meantime, however, check out our other Modern Warfare 3 articles here so you can hit the ground running.

Related: Best Quick Scope Loadout in Modern Warfare 3 on Prima Games

Nick Farrell
About The Author
Having worked in the games industry for half a decade now, Nick has rediscovered his passion for covering games after having dabbled in PR. Favorite games include World of Warcraft, Overwatch and the Yakuza franchise.