star wars: battlefront

Having shown a couple of minutes of Fighter Squadron scuffles at Gamescom, and previously outlined the basic Deathmatch mode, Star Wars: Battlefront now turns to Supremacy.

This is a new mode in name, but has familiar aspects. It’s a match type in a huge budget competitive shooter, after all. They’re not about to step too far out of the comfort zone.

Supremacy will make use of all Star Wars: Battlefront’s unit types, including ground troops, special Heroes and Villains, and vehicles. It’s going to be a ‘capture and hold points’ mode at heart, but with a few slight differences. You might even be able to shake your fist at people as Vader, like in the image above.

Each map will have five control points, two of which start off in the hands of each opposing force. The fifth is up for grabs in a central location. Once that fifth point is taken (by either side), the other control points will need to be claimed “in a set order”. In short, one team will always be going for one specific control point (and defending a specific one as well).

The first team to take all five, or control the majority once 10 minutes are up, will win.

According to the piece linked above, Supremacy mode will have “the largest fighting grounds that Star Wars: Battlefront has to offer”. The intent is to create a mode like Conquest, but with enough changes to keep it novel.

DICE level designer Dennis Brännvall spells out the studio’s intentions in the following way: “Supremacy is a game mode that will excite fans of the Conquest mode from Battlefield. That said, we’ve made several tweaks to improve the formula. You will always spawn close to the action when you enter Supremacy, so you’ll never feel isolated from the fight. By focusing on one key point at a time, players not playing the objective and camping on a hill somewhere will be a rare sight.”

FIFA 16 PC demo expected on 8 September

Previous article

I am Bread gets a Team Fortress 2 update

Next article

You may also like

More in News