Sea of Thieves closed beta dates announced for January

Sea of Thieves closed beta dates announced for January

Rare’s multiplayer pirate adventure Sea of Thieves launches on 20 March and today Microsoft announced the start date of the closed beta test.

The closed beta will start on 24 January at 12PM GMT / 7AM EST / 6AM CST / 5AM PST/ 8AM CET and run until Monday 29 January. The closed beta is only available to those who joined the Sea of Thieves Insider Programme before 1 December 2017 or anyone who has pre-ordered the game.

The closed beta will be a “bespoke” experience according to Rare and it will give players a taste of the pirate action ahead of the launch. PC gamers will not be pleased to see it’s a Windows 10 exclusive but it’s Rare so that was always to be expected.

Related to this article
  • Sea of Thieves’ Cursed Sails expansion adds skeleton ships and player alliances
  • Related to this article
  • Sea of Thieves: A Rough Start to a Bright Future
  • Related to this article
  • Sea of Thieves Makes Memories, and That’s What Matters

  • Paul Younger

    Founder and Editor of PC Invasion. Veteran PC gamer of over 22 years.